SNF-AGORA Citizen Linguistics

Citizen Linguistics: locate that dialect!

In 2015 the ZüKL submitted a SNF-AGORA project proposal, which was accepted in January 2016. The project, which is carried out by the Zurich Center for Linguistics, started in March and will end in May 2018. 

Content and aims of the project

At the heart of the Citizen Linguistics project is an online platform where users can identify dialect samples by locating them on a map (play the games here: http://www.dindialaekt.chhttp://www.tonaccent.ch). Speech samples may sound like this:

This example comes from the Phonogram Archives of the University of Zurich (http://www.phonogrammarchiv.uzh.ch/en.html). The following French sample is extracted from the OFROM-corpus (http://www11.unine.ch/).

Interested users have the additional options to leave comments, to use a supervised forum and to add their own transcriptions and ratings to the sound data. Linguist experts communicate updates and findings from the incoming data via a monthly newsletter from the beginning of 2017 onwards.

The aim of the project is twofold: entering into a dialogue with the public about linguistic variation in Switzerland, while at the same time collecting data for linguistic analysis on the perception of this variation by lay people. Linguistic awareness is expected to increase, which may help breaking down common dialect stereotypes.

Academic and public context

Dialect variation is a reality that most Swiss people encounter on a daily basis. The playful reflection of the differences and characteristics of dialects should help build a new awareness of linguistic diversity in Switzerland and provide novel insights for research. Results of the “localize-it” game may be displayed as follows:

Heatmap speaker Fribourg

This heat map shows the location of a native-language speaker form Fribourg by the test subjects. The results show that speakers from Fribourg are sometimes identified as coming from the Valais. The speech sample in question was correctly identified in 35% of the cases. 28% of the test persons, however, incorrectly placed the speaker in Valais.

SNF-AGORA Citizen Linguistics

Citizen Linguistics: locate that dialect!

Le ZüKL a soumis une requête Agora au FNS durant l’été 2015, laquelle a été acceptée en janvier 2016. Le projet, qui a débuté le 1er mars 2016, durera deux ans. 

Contenu et objectifs du projet 

Le site web « ton accent » est au cœur du projet (joue ici: http://www.tonaccent.ch). Concrètement, ce site a pour fonction de permettre à l’utilisateur d’identifier l’origine géographique d’un locuteur (romand ou suisse-allemand) sur la base de l’écoute de différents extraits sonores. Voici un exemple :

Les utilisateurs peuvent en plus ajouter des commentaires ou prendre part à des discussions sur un forum modéré par un expert. En outre, ils peuvent transcrire et évaluer les extraits. À partir du début de l’année 2017, les collaborateurs du projet donneront des informations sur l’avancée et les résultats du projet dans une infolettre mensuelle. 

Le but de cette infolettre est double : d’une part, il s’agira d’initier, entre le public et les experts, un dialogue portant sur les différences dialectales ; d’autre part, de recueillir de précieuses (méta-)données quant à la perception des dialectes et des accents par le public. Nous espérons que cet échange entre le public et la science permettra aux internautes de développer une conscience linguistique plus aiguë, et d’atténuer les préjugés envers les différences dialectales. 

Contexte scientifique et social

Pour la plupart des Suisses, la variation dialectale fait partie de la vie quotidienne. A travers une interface ludique, nous pensons que la réflexion sur les différences et les caractéristiques des dialectes et des accents peut stimuler une nouvelle conscience de la diversité linguistique en Suisse. En même temps, le projet permet des perspectives de grand intérêt sur la perception des dialectes (dialectologie perceptive). Les résultats du jeu peuvent être illustrés de cette manière :

Heatmap Fribourg