Quantitative Analysis of Linguistic Data

In July 2014, ZüKL and VariaForMea are jointly organising the doctoral seminar "Quantitative Analysis of Linguistic Data" (QUALD). Four blocks will offer an inspiring, application-oriented introduction into the collection and management of quantitative data as well as into their analysis based on statistical methods and their interpretation.

The seminar is open to all Swiss PhD students. Members of the PhD Programme Linguistics at UZH are granted free access as long as places are available. External students have to send an application (see below). Students affiliated with VariaForMea (universities of Freiburg, Geneva, Lugano, Neuchâtel, Zurich) can get reimbursement for travel and accommodation expenses from VariaForMea (see this link for details). The seminar is not open for students from outside Switzerland.

General information

Time and place

22 - 25 July 2014, University of Zurich, room KO2-F-172

Organisation

The seminar consists of four blocks that refer to each other but can also be followed separately. Each block stretches over two half days.

Contents

The titles of the blocks are (teachers in brackets):

See here for more detailed descriptions.

Assessment

Students who have participated in a block and have successfully solved exercises are granted 1 ECTS point per block.

Application

If you want to participate, please send us the following information:

  • Full name
  • Affiliation (university, department, PhD programme if applicable)
  • Blocks you would like to participate in
  • ECTS points needed? (yes/no)
  • Any topics within the blocks would be especially interested in

If you are not a member of the PhD Programme Linguistics of UZH, please also attach your CV and a cover letter.

The information and documents should be sent to:

You will be notified about your acceptance until 30 April (VariaForMea) / 15 May (DPL, others).

Please understand that the number of participants is restricted to 20 per block. 10 places each are reserved for members of the PhD Programme Linguistics and for external participants. If less than 10 applications have been submitted by 15 April in either of the two groups, applicants on the waiting list of the other group may be assigned one of the reserved places.

Detailed course descriptions

① Practical introduction to statistics

  • Time: 22 + 23 July, 9:00-13:00
  • Teacher: Gerold Schneider
  • Description: Statistical methods have become part and parcel of modern linguistics and are used in such different fields as phonetics, typology, historical linguistics, or corpus linguistics. They are the primary means of analysing quantitative data and are indispensable when it comes to judging their significance. This course offers a short and practical introduction to statistical methods and their use in linguistics. We will first have a look at methods for describing quantitative data such as the mean and standard deviation. Following this, some statistical significance tests (t-test, χ2-test) will be introduced together with their theoretical backgrounds. Finally we will also have a look at the concept of statistical models.
  • Requirements: Exercises will be done in each participant's spreadsheet software of choice and the programming language R. Both should therefore be preinstalled. Some common spreadsheet programmes are Excel (Windows, commercial) and OpenOffice (platform-independent, freeware). R can be downloaded for free from www.r-project.org. Previous knowledge of programming languages is not necessary.
  • Language:German or English (depending on participants)

② Database design

  • Time: 22 + 23 July, 14:30-18:30
  • Teacher: Steven Moran
  • Description: Databases are structures for storing data whose purpose is to make entering, searching, analysing, and updating data as easy and efficient as possible. Databases are growing more and more important in linguistics as amounts of data become large and relations between data more complex. This course starts with an introduction into the basics of database theory and then focuses on practical aspects: Which questions have to be answered before creating a database? Which database management systems (DBMS) exist, and for which applications are they suitable? Which techniques are important for collecting data efficiently? How can a DBMS help with analysing data, and which interfaces exist to other analysis tools?
  • Requirements: The following programmes must be pre-installed::
    • any spreadsheet software (e.g. MS Excel, OpenOffice Calc)
    • MAMP (Mac) or XAMP (Windows)
    • Navicat for MySQL (LOCALHOST copy, may require MAMP/XAMP). There is a free trial version available.
    Additional programmes that will be used in examples (installation optional):
  • Language: English

③ From theory to data and back

  • Time: 24 + 25 July, 9:00-13:00
  • Teacher: Tanja Samardžić
  • Description: Using quantitative data in linguistics has many advantages - they can be analysed using established statistical techniques, they are easier to process objectively than qualitative data, and they are easier to relate to other data. However, all types of data can only be used scientifically once they are assigned an interpretation in a theoretical context. Therefore, this course is all about the question how quantitative data can be linked to linguistic theories and concrete problems. Based on two elaborated examples, we will see how one can define plausible linguistic hypotheses which can be tested in a quantitative framework. In particular, we will discuss the following questions: What kind of data do I need to prove or corroborate my theory? How do I look at my data? How do I draw sound conclusions from my dataset?
  • Requirements: Participants should download the preparation sheet, fill it in and bring it with them to the course. The sheet also contains recommended literature with links. Two texts are not available online but can be downloaded from this page: Croft and Poole (2008) and Samardžić (2014).
  • Language: English

④ Data transformation

  • Time: 24. + 25.7., 14:30 - 18:30 Uhr
  • Teacher: Taras Zakharko
  • Description: Statistic analysis usually requires data to be available in a particular format. However, real world data may look quite different - a text corpus, a typological database, a collection of questionnaire answers. In order to analyse such data, they must first be aggregated, reshaped and reconstituted into a suitable form - a prodecure commonly known as data transformation. This course is a practical introduction to data transformation using R - a programming environment for statistical computing and data mining. Being highly flexible and easy to learn and use, R is becoming increasingly popular among linguists. Beside this we will also touch on the topic of data visualisation.
  • Requirements: R (downloadable from www.r-project.org) should be preinstalled on the participants' computers.
  • Language: German or English (depending on participants)

Quantitative Analysis of Linguistic Data

Im Juli 2014 organisieren ZüKL und VariaForMea gemeinsam das Doktoranden-Seminar "Quantitative Analysis of Linguistic Data" (QUALD), das sich ganz dem Thema der quantitativen Analyse linguistischer Daten widmet. Vier Blöcke bieten eine anregende und anwendungsorientierte Einführung in das Sammeln und Handhaben quantitativer Daten, ihre Analyse mithilfe von Statistik sowie ihre Interpretation.

Das Seminar ist frei zugänglich für Mitglieder des Doktoratsprogramms Linguistik der UZH. Andere Doktoranden aus der Schweiz müssen sich bewerben. Doktoranden der VariaForMea-Unis (Freiburg, Genf, Lugano, Neuchâtel, Zürich) können Anreise- und Übernachtungskosten erstattet bekommen (siehe diese Seite). Das Seminar ist nicht offen für Doktoranden ausserhalb der Schweiz.

Allgemeine Informationen

Zeit und Ort

22. - 25. Juli 2014, Universität Zürich, Raum KO2-F-172

Organisation

Das Seminar ist in vier Blöcke aufgeteilt, die sich aufeinander beziehen, jedoch auch unabhängig voneinander besucht werden können. Ein Block nimmt je zwei halbe Tage ein.

Inhalte

Die Titel der Blöcke (mit Dozenten) sind:

Detailinformationen weiter unten.

Leistungsnachweis

Der erfolgreiche Abschluss eines Blocks durch die Teilnahme und Abgabe von Übungsaufgaben wird mit je 1 ECTS-Punkt bewertet.

Anmeldung

Wenn Sie teilnehmen möchten, benötigen wir folgende Angaben:

  • Vor- und Nachname
  • Affiliation (Universität, Institut, ggf. Doktoratsprogramm)
  • Blöcke, an denen Sie teilnehmen möchten (Nummer genügt)
  • Leistungsnachweis ja/nein
  • Ggf. Themen innerhalb der vorgegebenen Blöcke, die Sie besonders interessieren

Falls Sie nicht Mitglied des Doktoratsprogramms Linguistik der UZH sind, fügen Sie bitte ausserdem Ihren Lebenslauf und ein Motivationsschreiben im Pdf-Format bei.

Die Informationen und ggf. die Dokumente senden Sie an:

Die Benachrichtigung über die Annahme erfolgt bis 30. April (VariaForMea) bzw. 15. Mai (DPL, sonstige).

Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass die Anzahl der Teilnehmer auf 20 je Kurs begrenzt ist. Dabei sind zunächst jeweils 10 Plätze für Angehörige des Doktoratsprogramms Linguistik und für andere Doktoranden reserviert. Ausgleiche zugunsten einer der beiden Gruppen können nach dem 15. April vorgenommen werden, wenn weniger Anmeldungen als vorgesehen eingegangen sind.

Details zu den Kursblöcken

① Practical introduction to statistics

  • Zeit: 22. + 23.7., 9-13 Uhr
  • Dozent: Gerold Schneider
  • Beschreibung: Statistische Methoden sind aus der Linguistik nicht mehr wegzudenken und kommen in so unterschiedlichen Bereichen zum Einsatz wie Phonetik, Typologie, historischer Sprachwissenschaft oder Korpuslinguistik. Sie sind das wichtigste Hilfsmittel für die Auswertung quantitativer Daten und sind insbesondere für die Beurteilung der Aussagekraft von Daten unerlässlich. Dieser Kurs bietet eine kurze praktische Einführung in statistische Methoden und ihre Anwendung in der Linguistik. Wir werden zunächst Methoden zur Beschreibung quantitativer Daten betrachten, wie etwa Mittelwert und Standardabweichung. Anschliessend werden einige statistische Signifikanztests wie der T-Test und der χ2-Test mit ihrem jeweiligen Hintergrund vorgestellt werden. Zuletzt werden wir einen Blick auf das Konzept statistischer Modelle werfen.
  • Anforderungen: Übungen werden in Tabellenkalkulationssoftware und der Programmiersprache R durchgeführt. Beide sollten daher vorinstalliert sein. Zur Tabellenkalkulation eignen sich z.B. Excel (für Windows, kostenpflichtig) oder die Freeware OpenOffice. R ist frei verfügbar auf www.r-project.org. Vorkenntnisse in Programmierung sind nicht erforderlich.
  • Sprache:Deutsch oder Englisch (richtet sich nach Teilnehmern)

② Database design

  • Zeit: 22. + 23.7., 14:30-18:30 Uhr
  • Dozent: Steven Moran
  • Beschreibung: Datenbanken sind eine strukturierte Form der Speicherung von Daten, die Aufgaben wie Eingabe, Abruf, Analyse und Aktualisierung so einfach und effizient wie möglich machen soll. Datenbanken werden in der Linguistik umso wichtiger, je grösser die Datenmengen und je komplexer die Beziehungen zwischen den Daten werden. Dieser Kurs führt kurz in die Grundlagen der Datenbanktheorie ein und konzentriert sich dann vor allem auf praktische Aspekte: Welche Fragen sind vor dem Anlegen einer Datenbank zu klären? Welche Datenbankmanagementsysteme (DBMS) gibt es, und für welche Anwendungen eignen sie sich? Wie lässt sich die Datensammlung effizient gestalten? Welche Möglichkeiten der Analyse bieten DBMS, und welche Schnittstellen gibt es zu anderen Analysetools?
  • Anforderungen: Folgende Softwares müssen vorinstalliert sein:
    • eine beliebige Tabellenkalkulationssoftware (z.B. MS Excel, OpenOffice Calc)
    • MAMP (Mac) oder XAMP (Windows)
    • Navicat für MySQL (LOCALHOST-Version, benötigt evtl. MAMP/XAMP). Eine Testversion ist frei verfügbar.
    Weitere Softwares, die in Beispielen verwendet werden (Installation optional):
  • Sprache: Englisch

③ From theory to data and back

  • Zeit: 24. + 25.7., 9-13 Uhr
  • Dozent: Tanja Samardžić
  • Beschreibung: Die Verwendung quantitativer Daten in der Linguistik bringt viele Vorteile mit sich - u.a. eignen sich solche Daten für statistische Anwendungen, sind leichter objektiv messbar als qualitative Daten und sind einfacher mit anderen Daten in Beziehung zu setzen. Dabei sollte aber nicht vergessen werden, dass Daten immer erst einer theoretischen Interpretation bedürfen, um wissenschaftlich verwertbar zu werden. Dieser Kurs widmet sich daher der Frage, wie sich quantitative Daten mit linguistischen Theorien und konkreten Fragestellungen verknüpfen lassen. Auf der Grundlage zweier ausführlicher Beispiele werden wir untersuchen, wie linguistische Hypothesen so definiert werden können, dass sie sich quantitativ überprüfen lassen. Dabei werden wir insbesondere auch die folgenden Fragen diskutieren: Welche Art von Daten benötige ich, um meine Theorie zu beweisen oder zu unterstützen? Wie betrachte ich meine Daten? Wie ziehe ich die richtigen Schlüsse aus meinen Daten?
  • Anforderungen: Teilnehmer laden den Fragebogen herunter und bringen ihn ausgefüllt zum Kurs mit. Der Fragebogen enthält auch Angaben zu empfohlener Literatur mit Links. Zwei Texte sind nicht auf anderen Seiten online verfügbar, sondern hier verlinkt: Croft und Poole (2008) und Samardžić (2014).
  • Sprache: Englisch

④ Data transformation

  • Zeit: 24. + 25.7., 14:30 - 18:30 Uhr
  • Dozent: Taras Zakharko
  • Beschreibung: Statistische Analysen setzen für gewöhnlich voraus, dass Daten in einem bestimmten Format vorliegen. Reale Daten sehen aber häufig ganz anders aus - ein Textkorpus, eine typologische Datenbank oder eine Sammlung von Fragebögen können daher nicht unmittelbar verwertet werden. Hierfür müssen die Daten zunächst aggregiert, umgeformt und wieder zusammengesetzt werden. Dieser Prozess heisst Datentransformation. Dieser Kurs führt in die Datentransformation mit Hilfe von R ein, einer Programmierumgebung für statistische Berechnungen und Data Mining. R erfreut sich auch unter Linguisten zunehmender Beliebtheit, weil es flexible Anwendungen erlaubt und einfach zu lernen und zu benutzen ist. Neben der Datentransformation werden wir auch das Thema der Datenvisualisierung streifen.
  • Anforderungen: R (downloadbar von www.r-project.org) sollte auf dem Rechner der Teilnehmer vorinstalliert sein.
  • Sprache: Deutsch oder Englisch (richtet sich nach Teilnehmern)