Interdisciplinary studies

The ZüKL institutes offer two interdisciplinary Master's courses and one interdisciplinary PhD Programme.



Historical Linguistics

"Historical Linguistics" builds a bridge between Indo-European studies and language-specific philologies. The course comprises the study of theoretical aspects of language change and the methodology of reconstruction but does not restrict itself to Indo-European languages in order to achieve a wider perspective.

Historical linguistics can be studied by students who have a Bachelor's or equivalent degree in a linguistic discipline and is available in two variants (75 CP with Master's thesis, 45 CP without Master's thesis).

Multilingual Text Analysis

The programme "Multilingual Text Analysis" combines language-specific and comparative corpus linguistics with computational-linguistic methods and technologies, in particular with parallel corpus analysis. The demand for university graduates with linguistic technology skills is rapidly increasing throughout the world, thus making multilingualism a coveted competence.

Applicants for this programme must have completed a Bachelor's degree (or equivalent) with a stipulated minimum number of credit points in linguistics and computer linguistics. MLTA itself can be completed with 75, 90, or 105 CP.

Doktoratsprogramm Linguistik

The PhD Programme Linguistics ("Linguistic Structure - Linguistic Variation - Linguistic History") is the programme for all PhD students who want to work and study in an open, interdisciplinary, and international environment. About 20 researchers from all ZüKL institutes offer supervision on a wide range of diverse topics, from language-specific disciplines such as English and German Linguistics to cross-linguistic ones such as General Linguistics and Computational Linguistics.

Institutsübergreifende Ausbildung

Im Kreis der ZüKL-Institute existieren bislang zwei institutsübergreifende Studiengänge und ein Doktoratsprogramm.



Historische Linguistik

Das Master-Hauptfach "Historische Linguistik" verbindet die Vorteile von Indogermanistik und einzelsprachlichen historischen Sprachwissenschaften. Es beinhaltet einerseits das Studium theoretischer Aspekte von Sprachwandel und der Methodologie der Rekonstruktion, beschränkt sich dabei aber nicht auf indogermanische Sprachen, sondern schliesst auch andere Sprachen mit ein, um ein breiteres Blickfeld zu erhalten.

Das Fach kann von Studenten mit BA- oder äquivalentem Abschluss in einem linguistischen Fach studiert werden und ist in zwei Varianten (75 KP mit Masterarbeit, 45 KP ohne Masterarbeit) verfügbar.

Multilinguale Textanalyse

Im Masterprogramm "Multilinguale Textanalyse" werden sprachspezifische und sprachvergleichende Korpuslinguistik mit Methoden aus der Computerlinguistik kombiniert, insbesondere mit paralleler Korpusanalyse. Der Bedarf an Hochschulabsolventen mit sprachtechnologischen Kompetenzen nimmt weltweit stark zu, und Multilingualität ist dabei besonders gefragt.

Voraussetzung ist ein BA- oder äquivalenter Abschluss mit einem Mindestanteil an Kreditpunkten in Sprachwissenschaft und Computerlinguistik. MLTA kann mit 75, 90 oder 105 KP abgeschlossen werden.

Doktoratsprogramm Linguistik

Das Doktoratsprogramm Linguistik ("Sprachstruktur Sprachvariation Sprachgeschichte") ist die Anlaufstelle für alle linguistischen Doktoranden, die in einem offenen, interdisziplinären und internationalen Umfeld arbeiten wollen. Etwa 20 verschiedene Betreuer aus allen ZüKL-Instituten sichern die fachliche Vielfalt und eröffnen zahlreiche Spezialisierungsmöglichkeiten - von sprachspezifischen Fächern wie Anglistik und Germanistik zu sprachübergreifenden wie Allgemeiner Sprachwissenschaft und Computerlinguistik.