ZämeLing: Course catalogue linguistics

Name: Module name Course name Either
Subject:
Department:
Instructor:
Points:
Semester:

How to use ZämeLing

You can search for linguistic courses in the ZämeLing database using the form above. The database is generated automatically by a crawler looking through the relevant pages of the online course catalogue (OCC) of the UZH. Anything that is not in the OCC cannot be found via ZämeLing either. The departments updating the OCC are solely responsible for its contents.

Several idiosyncrasies of the OCC are also reflected by ZämeLing:

  • It is impossible to determine the main organizer of a course from the OCC. Instead of this, a list of all institutes that included the course in one of their own modules is given.
  • Large courses often have several instances. For example, an introductory practical course may be split into several groups meeting at different times. Should those instances have differing names (e.g. "Introduction (Group A)" vs "Introduction (Group B)"), a common name for the course is generated by our search tool. However, the names of the instances are preserved and can be searched for.
  • Occasionally providers enter what should be several different courses sharing a module as instances of a single course. It is impossible for ZämeLing to disambiguate these cases.
  • Similarly, sometimes what should be one module gets entered as several modules with essentially the same name. Such cases may again appear in ZämeLing's results, too.
  • The field "Subject" in the search form above searches through the contents of the field "Bestandteil von" ('part of') in the OCC. While this field is intended for the subject(s) a module belongs to, any text may be entered into it, so subjects like "Pflichtmodul" ('required module') or "Assessmentstufe" ('assessment level') also commonly appear.

ZämeLing: Linguistische Lehrveranstaltungen

Name: Modulname Vorlesungsname Beides
Studiengang:
Institut:
Dozent:
Punkte:
Semester:

Hinweise zur Benutzung

Im Suchformular oben können Sie nach linguistischen Lehrveranstaltungen suchen. Die zugrundeliegende Datenbank wird über einen Crawler automatisch aus dem Web-Vorlesungsverzeichnis (VVZ) der UZH generiert. Es werden also keine Inhalte angezeigt, die sich nicht auch im VVZ finden. Verantwortlich für die Inhalte sind allein die Institute, die das VVZ pflegen.

Verschiedene Besonderheiten des Web-VVZ finden sich daher auch in unserer Datenbank wieder:

  • Es ist nicht möglich, zu einer Lehrveranstaltung den Hauptanbieter zu ermitteln. Zur Verfügung steht lediglich eine Liste aller Institute, die die Veranstaltung über hauseigene Module eingebunden haben.
  • Grosse Lehrveranstaltungen haben häufig mehrere Instanzen. So kann z.B. eine Einführung in die Linguistik in einem Semester zu verschiedenen Zeiten für verschiedene Gruppen von Studierenden durchgeführt werden. Falls die Instanzen in solchen Fällen im VVZ verschiedene Namen tragen, werden diese für die Übersicht auf dieser Seite vereinheitlicht (unterliegend bleiben die Unterschiede aber erhalten, d.h. die Suche nach Strings wie "Gruppe 1" in Instanzennamen ist möglich).
  • Gelegentlich werden Lehrveranstaltungen, die lediglich zum selben Modul gehören, ansonsten aber sehr verschieden sind, als Instanzen einer Lehrveranstaltung eingetragen. Solche Fehleintragungen kann unser Crawler nicht auflösen.
  • Einzelne Institute tragen aus internen Gründen ein einziges durch Studienordnung und Namen definiertes Modul mehrfach ins VVZ ein. Solche Mehrfacheintragungen erscheinen auch auf dieser Seite.
  • Das Feld "Studiengang" im Formular sucht in den Inhalten des Feldes "Bestandteil von" im VVZ. Obwohl dieses Feld eigentlich für Studiengänge gedacht zu sein scheint, sind die Eingabemöglichkeiten offenbar nicht reguliert. Daher finden sich auch in unserer Datenbank verschiedene kuriose "Studiengänge" wie "Assessmentstufe" u.ä.