SNF-AGORA Citizen Linguistics

Citizen Linguistics: locate that dialect!

In 2015 the ZüKL submitted a SNF-AGORA project proposal, which was accepted in January 2016. The project, which is carried out by the Zurich Center for Linguistics, started in March and will end in May 2018. 

Content and aims of the project

At the heart of the Citizen Linguistics project is an online platform where users can identify dialect samples by locating them on a map (play the games here: http://www.dindialaekt.chhttp://www.tonaccent.ch). Speech samples may sound like this:

This example comes from the Phonogram Archives of the University of Zurich (http://www.phonogrammarchiv.uzh.ch/en.html). The following French sample is extracted from the OFROM-corpus (http://www11.unine.ch/).

Interested users have the additional options to leave comments, to use a supervised forum and to add their own transcriptions and ratings to the sound data. Linguist experts communicate updates and findings from the incoming data via a monthly newsletter from the beginning of 2017 onwards.

The aim of the project is twofold: entering into a dialogue with the public about linguistic variation in Switzerland, while at the same time collecting data for linguistic analysis on the perception of this variation by lay people. Linguistic awareness is expected to increase, which may help breaking down common dialect stereotypes.

Academic and public context

Dialect variation is a reality that most Swiss people encounter on a daily basis. The playful reflection of the differences and characteristics of dialects should help build a new awareness of linguistic diversity in Switzerland and provide novel insights for research. Results of the “localize-it” game may be displayed as follows:

Heatmap speaker Fribourg

This heat map shows the location of a native-language speaker form Fribourg by the test subjects. The results show that speakers from Fribourg are sometimes identified as coming from the Valais. The speech sample in question was correctly identified in 35% of the cases. 28% of the test persons, however, incorrectly placed the speaker in Valais.

SNF-AGORA Citizen Linguistics

Citizen Linguistics: locate that dialect!

Das ZüKL hat 2015 beim SNF einen AGORA-Projektantrag eingereicht, der im Januar 2016 bewilligt wurde. Das vom ZüKL getragene Projekt startete am 1. März 2016 und dauert zwei Jahre. 

Inhalt und Ziele des Forschungsprojekts

Im Zentrum des Citizen Linguistics Projekts steht die Online-Plattform "Tour de Suisse: din dialäkt/ton accent" (hier geht's zu den Spielen: http://www.dindialaekt.ch http://www.tonaccent.ch), die anhand von zahlreichen Hörbeispielen das spielerische Identifizieren von Dialekten mittels Lokalisierung auf einer Karte erlaubt. 

Das klingt dann beispielsweise so: 

 

Dieses Beispiel ist dem Phonogrammarchiv der Universität Zürich entnommen (http://www.phonogrammarchiv.uzh.ch/de.html)Das nachfolgende französische Sample stammt aus dem OFROM-Korpus (http://www11.unine.ch/).

Interessierte Benutzer/-innen können zudem Kommentare hinterlassen, ein von Expert/-innen moderiertes Diskussionsforum nutzen und die Sprachbeispiele mit Transkriptionen und Bewertungen versehen. Die Projektmitarbeitenden informieren ab Anfang 2017 in einem monatlichen Newsletter über die Fortschritte und Erkenntnisse des Citizen Linguistics Projekts.

Dessen Ziel liegt einerseits darin, mit der Öffentlichkeit in einen Dialog über Dialektunterschiede zu treten. Andererseits werden wichtige Daten zur Dialektwahrnehmung erhoben. Der Austausch zwischen Öffentlichkeit und Wissenschaft führt zu einem erhöhten Sprachbewusstsein in der Bevölkerung, wodurch Vorurteile gegenüber Dialektunterschieden abgebaut werden können.

Wissenschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Kontext

Für die meisten Schweizerinnen und Schweizer gehört Dialektvariation bekanntlich zu ihrer Alltagsrealität. In spielerischer Form kann durch die Auseinandersetzung mit Unterschieden und Charakteristika von Dialekten ein neues Bewusstsein für sprachliche Vielfalt in der Schweiz entstehen. Gleichzeitig ermöglicht es der wissenschaftlichen Dialektforschung wertvolle Einblicke in die Wahrnehmung von Dialekten (Perzeptionsdialektologie). Die Ergebnisse aus dem Spiel können beispielsweise wie folgt dargestellt werden:

Heatmap Lokalisierung eines Sprechers aus Fribourg

Diese Heatmap zeigt, wie das Hörbeispiel eines muttersprachlichen Sprechers aus der Stadt Fribourg von den Testpersonen lokalisiert wurde. Dabei wird ersichtlich, dass SprecherInnen aus Fribourg oft mit jenen aus dem Kanton Wallis verwechselt werden. Der Sprecher wurde in 35% der Fälle richtig als Fribourger erkannt, in 28% der Fälle aber fälschlicherweise als Walliser identifiziert.